©2020 by Indigenous Climate Action.

Inspire, Empower and Share Knowledge


In January 2017 ICA developed a National Steering Committee to help guide and support the work of ICA to build out the organization with accountability and transparency.  Members of our Steering Committee come from all walks of life and backgrounds - from the grassroots to elected officials, from youth to Elders. 


The Steering Committee is guided by the values and pillars of Indigenous peoples’ ancestral teachings which honour Mother Earth and all our relations. The intent of the Steering Committee will be for the promotion and protection of Indigenous peoples' rights to self-determination through supporting the work of ICA in building awareness and knowledge on climate change. The foundations of this committee are based upon Indigenous customary laws and international human rights law and will practice the principles of free, prior and informed consent, along with suggestions on educational opportunities for things such as definitions, laws et al. 


Meet The Steering Committee

Michelle Myers-

Xeni Gwet'in, BC

Jesse Cardinal-

Kikino Metis, AB

Melina Laboucan-Massimo- 

Lubicon Cree, AB

Erica Violet Lee-


Shelly Young

Mi'kmaq, NS

Barbara Wilson-


Ellen Gabriel-

Kanesatake, QB

Dorene Bernard

Mi'kmaq, NS

Clayton Thomas-Muller-


Michelle Brass-


Danika Littlechild-

Erminskin, AB

Chief Gordon Planes-

T'souke, BC

Desmond Bull-

Louis Bull, AB

Sadie-Phoenix Lavoie,


Kevin Sette- 

Treaty 1, MB

Dominga Robinson- 


Sue Deranger-